Tokyo.

My 3rd day in Japan was a Sunday. I had organized with a friend, Phill, who is a pastor in Tokyo to look after my suitcases while I travel throughout the country, and also that I would love to attend his church whenever I was in Tokyo. So with their church service starting at 2pm, I made the 4.5km walk from hotel, stopping at parks, a cafe and a restaurant for lunch before the service.
The church is located on the 3rd floor of a building, in which McDonalds occupies the 1st and 2nd floors, right outside the train station. I arrived early and met with Phill and his wife Kelly and a few other members and guest of the church. The service had maybe 20 people, but can have up to about 50 (a fair bit smaller then FAC). The service kicked off with a few songs that I recognized (10,000 reasons, and revelation song). However, the songs we half English and half Japanese, a verse and a chorus in English, and then the next verse and chorus in Japanese. It was interesting and a very good experience to hear songs I knew the lyrics for in English getting sung in Japanese. The sermon was done by one of the pastors (an Japanese woman) in Japanese, but after ever couple of sentences, it would be translated by Kelly in English. Followed by communion, again getting translated in both languages.
After the service, there was afternoon tea and fellowship, in which I met a few more people, including a lady from the Philippians, an American man and his Canadian wife, as well as a Japanese man who I spent about 30 minutes discussing soccer/football. After we packed up the room, I caught a train back to Phill & Kelly’s place, whilst having dinner at Mcdonalds along the way. After a short stay at their place, and packing what I needed in my hiking bag, I caught a train back to Shibuya.
That night, and the next I had spent sleeping in an internet cafe, while the first night wasn’t very comfortable, the second was considerably better.

Image

The following day consisted of checking out the shops, using the free wi-fi at starbucks, and figuring out where to go from Tokyo. In Shibuya there are 2 main shopping buildings (called 109, and 109 Men’s), 1 for women, 1 for men. There are both about 8 stories, with numerous shops on each floor, and could easily spend a lot of money there.

I had lunch at a BBQ place, where you get given your steak in small raw pieces, and you cook it as your about to eat it using a small grill built into the table. It was amazing, and for a decent lunch it was about $10.

The next day I went to Electric Town (actually called Akihabara), where you can buy anything from anime, to neon lights, as well as numerous arcades. I went to a bunch of shops, won some anime figurines and some junk food at an arcade, went in to an anime shop, went down stairs to realize that down stairs was in fact a hentai shop, so I quickly turned around and went back up stairs. I also found a batting cage (base ball) and hit most of the 56 balls for $6.


Then in the afternoon I left Tokyo catching a bus east, and slightly south, to Hamamatsu.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment